After KL Rahul helped the Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) put up a frightening goal of 207 runs, the bowling division stepped as much as skittle out the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) for a paltry 109. In doing so, they KXIP their second-biggest IPL victory when it comes to runs on the Dubai Worldwide Stadium on Thursday.

The opening bowling mixture of Mohammad Shami and Sheldon Cottrell knocked the wind out of RCB’s sails early into the run-chase because the Virat Kohli-led facet misplaced three wickets for a meagre 4 runs throughout the third over.

RCB then in some way bought by the remainder of the powerplay earlier than the spinners got here and utilized the choke. The leg-spin duo of 20-year-old Ravi Bishnoi and Murugan Ashwin scalped three wickets apiece as not one of the RCB batters bought going, earlier than ultimately capitulating for the bottom workforce complete in IPL 2020 so far.

In consequence, the race for the IPL 2020 ‘Purple Cap’ is being dominated by KXIP. Three of the highest 5 main wicket-takers are from the Punjab-based facet, whereas Murugan Ashwin, who got here in for Krishnappa Gowtham final night time, is ninth on the record.

IPL 2020 Purple Cap record

The top 7 bowlers are all tied on four wickets each
The highest 7 bowlers are all tied on 4 wickets every

If KL Rahul turned the brand new holder of the IPL 2020 ‘Orange Cap’, his Indian teammate Mohammad Shami is main the bowling charts – by advantage of higher bowling common – with 4 wickets from two matches. He returned spectacular figures of three for 15 in opposition to the Delhi Capitals (DC) on Sunday, earlier than dismissing Josh Philippe final night time.

Beneath him are RCB leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal, West Indian pacer Cottrell and Chahal’s counterpart Bishnoi – everybody tied on 4 wickets apiece. Whereas Chahal added only one wicket to his Man-of-the-Match efficiency of three victims versus the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), Cottrell has had a dream begin to his IPL profession with two wickets every in as many matches.

Bishnoi, who was the main wicket-taker with 17 scalps in six matches on the U-19 World Cup earlier this yr, adopted up his one wicket in opposition to DC with figures of three for 32 versus RCB final night time.

A shock bundle in part-timer Shivam Dube occupies the sixth place, additionally on 4 wickets. The RCB all-rounder is proving to be a useful choice on the sluggish UAE wickets as he dismissed harmful batters Nicholas Pooran and Glenn Maxwell final night time, after ending with figures of two for 15 in opposition to SRH on Monday.

Murugan Ashwin has virtually cemented his place within the beginning eleven, selecting three wickets for simply 21 runs, thus finishing Bishnoi very properly.

A tightly-packed IPL 2020 ‘Purple Cap’ record signifies that adjustments are inevitable tonight because the Chennai Tremendous Kings (CSK) tackle the Shreyas Iyer-led DC in Dubai.

Try IPL 2020 schedule

Whereas the CSK duo of Sam Curran and Lungi Nigidi – each tied on 4 wickets every – will be the brand new holder of the ‘Purple Cap’, DC leggie Rahul Tewatia, who picked three wickets in opposition to KXIP on Sunday, can also climb up the charts.

Revealed 25 Sep 2020, 12:28 IST


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here