Babar Azam Breaks But One other Report, This Time as Captain

Babar Azam has turn out to be the fifth Pakistani captain to win his debut sequence after Pakistan’s 2-0 sequence win over South Africa. The earlier captain to attain the feat was middle-order batsman Saleem Malik who received his debut sequence towards New Zealand in 1994.

Babar is the primary Pakistani Check captain to clean-sweep an opponent in his debut sequence.


Pakistan Makes a Large Leap in ICC Check Rankings After Sweeping South Africa

Fazal Mahmood, Mushtaq Mohammad, and Javed Miandad are the opposite three Pakistani captains in historical past to win their debut sequence. Mushtaq Mohammad and Javed Miandad received 3-match sequence towards New Zealand and Australia with a margin of 2-0 and 1-0 respectively.

Babar was appointed as captain of the Check aspect previous to the workforce’s tour of New Zealand in December 2020. Babar suffered a thumb harm which dominated him out of the tour. Pakistan went onto lose the sequence 2-0 with out their captain and backbone of the batting unit. Babar stepped onto the sector as Check captain for the primary time towards South Africa within the first Check match at Nationwide Stadium Karachi.

This was Pakistan’s first Check sequence win towards South Africa since 2004. Since 2004, Pakistan and South Africa have performed six check sequence. South Africa had received 4 of them and a pair of sequence had been drawn. Inzamam-ul-Haq, Shoaib Malik, Misbah-ul-Haq, and Sarfaraz Ahmed had been the captains in the course of the six sequence.


Shahid Afridi Weighs in on Mohammad Rizwan & Hasan Ali’s Efficiency

Pakistan received each matches comfortably, successful the primary by seven wickets and the second by 95 runs. The sequence win additionally helped Pakistan leapfrog Sri Lanka and South Africa within the ICC workforce rankings and they’re now ranked fifth on this planet, their highest rating since 2017.

Pakistan captains to win their debut Check sequence are as follows:

Captain Opponents Outcome 12 months
Fazal Mahmood West Indies 2-1 1959
Mushtaq Mohammad New Zealand 2-0 1976
Javed Miandad Australia 1-0 1980
Saleem Malik New Zealand 2-1 1994
Babar Azam South Africa 2-0 2021

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top