Babar Azam Turns into ninth Pakistani Captain to Win a Check on Debut

Babar Azam has turn into the ninth Pakistani to win his first Check match as captain. Babar was initially appointed as captain previous to Pakistan’s tour of New Zealand however he was dominated out of the tour because of a thumb harm. Babar took the cost for the primary time in Pakistan’s first Check match in opposition to South Africa at Nationwide Stadium Karachi.


Pakistan Nonetheless Stays Unbeaten At Dwelling Underneath Misbah

Salman Butt was the final Pakistan Check captain to win his first Check match on debut. Pakistan defeated Australia in 2010 to degree the sequence 1-1 after the previous captain, Shahid Afridi, introduced his retirement halfway via the sequence.

Quick bowler, Fazal Mahmood, was the primary Pakistan Check captain to win his debut captaincy Check match. Underneath his captaincy, Pakistan defeated West Indies in 1959.


Famend Indian Commentator Compares Fawad Alam’s Story to Bollywood Movies

Right here’s a listing of all Pakistani gamers to win their debut matches as captain:

Captain Opponent 12 months
Fazal Mahmood West Indies 1959
Mushtaq Mohammad New Zealand 1976
Javed Miandad Australia 1980
Waqar Younis Zimbabwe 1993
Saleem Malik New Zealand 1994
Ramiz Raja Sri Lanka 1995
Mohammad Yousuf South Africa 2003
Salman Butt Australia 2010
Babar Azam South Africa 2021

Babar’s personal efficiency on this Check match wasn’t noteworthy as he fell to Keshav Maharaj in each innings, scoring 7 and 30.

Fawad Alam, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Yasir Shah and Nauman Ali put in nice performances as Pakistan gained the primary Check match by 7 wickets. Fawad Alam was named as man of the match for his magnificent century in Pakistan’s first innings.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top