Indian gamers verify into Colombo lodge sans conventional garland ceremony; will probably be in “strict bio-bubble”

The 25-strong Indian squad and help workers for the tour of Sri Lanka had been checked into their Colombo lodge from the rear entrance, breaking the custom of welcoming them with garlands due to COVID-19 protocols.

Whereas the Check aspect is gearing up within the UK for a five-Check collection towards England in August, a second-string Indian group – beneath Rahul Dravid – will play three ODIs and as many T20Is towards Sri Lanka beginning July 13.

The cohort landed in Colombo yesterday afternoon and checked into Taj Samudra with no grand welcome, confirmed Pankaj Sampat, who’s the final supervisor of the lodge. He additional detailed the protection measures put in place for each side.

“Go away apart the garland ceremony, we couldn’t even glimpse on the gamers. The group was not escorted from the entrance however the gamers had been despatched of their rooms from the again. Each groups – India and Sri Lanka – will probably be in strict bio-bubble. They are going to be catered by the designated staffs, who’re additionally staying within the lodge.

“Gamers can have their meals at sure specified locations solely. This [pandemic] is a distinct conflict and we miss the welcoming ceremony this time. Nonetheless, it’s our pleasure advert honour to host them,” Gupta advised Deccan Chronicle.

The Indian group moved from their pre-departure bubble in Mumbai to the primary one in Colombo on the identical day three Sri Lankan gamers, specifically Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Mendis and Danushka Gunathilaka, had been expelled from the UK tour for breaching bio-security protocols.

The Lankans had been whitewashed within the three-match T20I collection. The Kusal Perera-led aspect will now search to salvage some delight within the ODI collection – the three ODIs will probably be performed on June 29, July 1 and 4. They are going to return to Colombo on July 5.

Full squad and schedule for India tour of Sri Lanka 2021 (Timings in IST)

1st ODI: July 13 – R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo – 2:30 PM

2nd ODI: July 16 – R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo – 2:30 PM

third ODI: July 18 – R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo – 2:30 PM

1st T20I: July 21 – R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo – 7:00 PM

2nd ODI: July 23 – R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo – 7:00 PM

third T20I: July 13 – R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo – 7:00 PM

India squad: Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (Wicketkeeper), Sanju Samson (Wicketkeeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, Okay Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Vice-captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya

Web Bowlers: Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, Simarjeet Singh

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top