Sajan Prakash and Srihari Nataraj have given a special perspective for Indian swimming, says Olympian Sandeep Sejwal

In a stupendous increase for Srihari Nataraj and Indian swimming, the game’s governing physique FINA accepted the Bengaluru swimmer’s “A” commonplace qualification time, thereby assuring a ticket to the Tokyo Olympics 2020.

Srihari Nataraj clocked 53.77s in a 100m backstroke time trial on the Sette Colli Trophy in Rome, Italy. This was a day after Sajan Prakash certified for the Tokyo Olympics 2020 in the identical occasion.

Learn: Watershed second for Indian swimming as Sajan Prakash and Srihari Nataraj qualify for Tokyo

This would be the first time that two Indian swimmers will likely be taking part within the Olympics.

The Swimming Federation of India confirmed Srihari Nataraj’s qualification to Tokyo by means of social media.

“Olympic qualification replace! Srihari Nataraj Olympic qualification time of 53:77 swam within the time trial on the Sette Colli Trophy is affirmed by FINA. SFI had put ahead its illustration to FINA for this..Srihari joins Sajan Prakash as India’s A qualification entry to Tokyo,” the federation tweeted.

Earlier, Sajan Prakash scripted historical past when he turned the primary Indian swimmer to breach the “A” qualification mark within the 200m butterfly occasion. Srihari Nataraj didn’t make the minimize by a whisker and completed 0.05 seconds behind the qualification mark.

Put up the frustration, Srihari Nataraj was allowed a time trial by the organizers of the Sette Colli Trophy on the final day of the Olympic qualification interval. In a time trial, swimmers don’t compete with others however swim to higher their timing.

The organizers despatched the outcomes to FINA, which had later accepted the time trial, thus paving the best way for Srihari Nataraj to journey to Tokyo.

Additionally learn: Tokyo Olympics: Sajan Prakash’s qualification in Swimming – Can India take advantage of it?

Srihari Nataraj, Sajan Prakash could make waves in Tokyo Olympics

In what’s a watershed second for Indian swimming to have two Indian swimmers qualify for the Olympics by means of the ‘A’ minimize, swimmer Sandeep Sejwal, who represented India within the 2008 Beijing Olympics, stated the second will change the best way Indian swimming is regarded upon.

“What the qualification has accomplished is that, it has eliminated the psychological block. After watching these two, it’s going to open up a whole lot of prospects for Indian swimmers. The positivity the qualification brings will change the sport in Indian swimming. The usual of swimming will now steadily get higher. These two have proven the best way and have made all of us perceive that it’s not unattainable for an Indian swimmer to attain an Olympic qualification ‘A’ minimize. Each Sajan Prakash and Srihari Nataraj have now given a special perspective to how Indian swimming will likely be regarded upon now,” Sandeep Sejwal stated in an unique interview with Sportskeeda.

Sandeep Sejwal added that each Srihari Nataraj and Sajan Prakash can advance nicely into the quadrennial Video games.

“Which means that each Sajan Prakash and Srihari Nataraj have clocked the time which the top-Sixteenth swimmer within the Rio de Janeiro Olympics achieved. It might put them in good stead to make it to the top-16 this time in Tokyo,” Sandeep defined.

The Olympian stated each swimmers ought to benefit from the second and to offer their greatest within the pool.

“Collaborating in an Olympic Video games is in itself an enormous reminiscence and they need to cherish this. They need to take pleasure in what they do the most effective – which is swim quick,” he concluded.

Whereas it will likely be a maiden Olympic sojourn for Srihari Nataraj, it will likely be Sajan Prakash’s second time on the occasion, having made an look 5 years in the past in Rio de Janeiro.

Additionally learn: Tokyo Olympics: High upcoming swimmers to be careful for

Edited by Sankalp Srivastava

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top